The fountain and pavilion of Union Square
 
Places of Worship in Union Square
Miracle Temple Seventh Day Adventist Church
South Fulton and West Lombard Streets
Originally erected in 1867 as a United Brethren in Christ church for the German worker population along Frederick and Pratt.
New Mount Zion Cathedral
South Mount and West Lombard Streets
Formerly the Church of the Fourteen Holy Martyrs, the twin-towered German Romanesque Revival structure was built in 1902, replacing an earlier structure erected in 1871. The spires – like the one on St. Martin’s (described below) – are visible from the highways entering Baltimore.
St. James Alpha and Omega Church
South Stricker and Hollins Streets
Facing the park, this vibrant congregation is Pentecostal, and is one of several churches of the same organization throughout the city.
St. Luke’s Episcopal Church
200 Block of North Carey Street
This jewel of Gothic Revival architecture is nestled nearby in the Franklin Square Historic District, our sister neighborhood to the North. St. Luke’s was built as Franklin Square was landscaped in 1851. The nave and main aisles were designed by local architects Niernsee and Nielson. Transepts and a chancel were added during renovations after 1858 by the New York architects J. W. Priest and H. M. Congdon.
For more information, click here.
St. Martin’s Roman Catholic Church
South Fulton Street and Fayette Avenue
Constructed in the Italian Romanesque/Renaissance Revival style, it has a single bell-tower that can be seen from the highways as one enters Baltimore.
St. Peter the Apostle Roman Catholic Church
Poppleton and Hollins Streets
Known as the “workers’ church,” construction of St. Peter’s began May 23, 1843 with its dedication on September 22, 1844. Notable for the Doric columns in front and Corinthian columns inside, it was designed by renowned Baltimore architect Robert Carey Long to recall the Athenian Temple of Hephaestus, god of fire and metallurgy. This theme was appropriate for a church with B&O railroad workers and Hayward-Bartlett ironworkers as parishioners. From its beginnings, the predominately Irish parish was also intended to include “colored persons.”
Union Square United Methodist Church
South Calhoun and West Lombard Streets
This church opened in 1853 on land donated by the Donnells. The Greek Revival edifice is graced by four Ionic columns which, with those of the pavilion in the square, are some of the largest remaining cast iron columns in the city.

©2002-2007 Chris Everett Design
Webmaster: Chris Everett   -   Terms and Conditions